Sher Dhan Rai, Bhim Acharya to fight for UML PP leader, CM in Province 1

Former ministers Sher Dhan Rai and Bhim Acharya look set to fight election for the post of chief minister (CM) in Province 1.

CPN-UML is electing parliamentary party leader for Province 1, where UML has single majority, on Friday. Rai, from the faction of UML Chairman KP Oli, and Acharya, from the faction of former party chief Madhav Kumar Nepal, are expected to file nominations for the election for parliamentary party leader.

The victor will become CM of the province as per the agreement with CPN (Maoist Center).

UML will get CM in four of the six provinces in which the left alliance has majority including Province 1, 3, 4 and 5. Maoist Center will get CM in Province 6 and 7.



© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.