Oli expands Cabinet, four ministers sworn in

Newly appointed ministers being administered oath of office and secrecy on Monday, February 26, 2018. Photo: Narayan Maharjan/Setopati

Prime Minister (PM) KP Sharma Oli added four ministers on Monday to expand his Cabinet 11 days after inducting two ministers on the day he assumed office.

President Bidhya Devi Bhandari administered oath of office and secrecy to two ministers from CPN-UML and two from CPN (Maoist Center) at the President’s Office Sheetal Niwas at around 4:30 Monday afternoon.

CPN-UML General Secretary Ishwor Pokharel has been appointed defense minister and former Nepal Rastra Bank (NRB) governor Yuba Raj Khatiwada finance minister.

Ram Bahadur Thapa has been appointed home minister and Matrika Yadav industry, commerce and supplies minister.

Pokharel, who was claiming for finance minister, was offered foreign ministry by PM Oli Sunday evening. But the situation changed after Federal Socialist Forum Nepal (FSFN) agreed to join the government as foreign minister Monday morning. Pokharel has been given defense ministry as a result.



© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.