NC publishes schedule for parliamentary party leader election

Nepali Congress (NC) has published schedule for the election for parliamentary party leader to be held on March 5.

Nominations can be filed from 6-7:30 pm on March 4, according to secretary at the party’s central office Keshav Rijal. The list of candidates will be published after investigating claims against any candidate until 8 pm that day.

Voting will be done at the central office in Sanepa from 10 am to 1 pm on March 5.

One must deposit non-refundable amount of Rs 41,000 to file candidacy for parliamentary party leader, according to Rijal. The candidates had deposited Rs 25,000 to contest the election for parliamentary party leader after the second Constituent Assembly election in 2013.

NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba and leader Prakash Man Singh from Ram Chandra Paudel faction have announced candidacy for the post of parliamentary party leader.

General Secretary Shashank Koirala has also said he is ready to take the responsibility if he were elected unanimously.



© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.