Six different elections to be held in nine days in federal parliament

Six different elections will be held in the nine days from March 10 to March 18 in the federal parliament.

An all-party meeting of the five political parties in the federal parliament has finalized the election date for speaker and deputy speaker, and chairman and vice chairman of National Assembly.

According to CPN-UML leader Bhanubhakta Dhakal, the election to be held on March 10 will choose the Speaker while Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli will seek the vote of confidence on March 11.

The Election Commission (EC) had earlier finalized the date of presidential election for March 13. The National Assembly and HoR members will exercise their franchise to elect the new president.

Election will be held on March 14 to elect chairman of the National Assembly.

Similarly, the election for deputy speaker of HoR will be held on March 16.

There is also a provision that speaker and deputy speaker as well as chairperson and vice-chairperson should be from different parties and different genders. The election to pick up vice-chairman of National Assembly will be held on March 18.

The first meeting of the federal parliament will be a joint meeting of HoR and National Assembly on March 5. President will read out a letter to announce start of the session in the first meeting. A minute of silence will then be observed for the known and unknown martyrs.

Mahantha Thakur of Rastriya Janata Party Nepal (RJP) will read out the letter of Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers as the senior-most member of the parliament. The Secretariat has prepared a draft of interim working procedure.



© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.