National Assembly members sworn in

Tara Devi Bhatta administered oath of office and secrecy to National Assembly members on Sunday. Bhatta, the senior most National Assembly member, administered oath of office and secrecy to National Assembly members.

The Supreme Court (SC) has issued an interim order stopping swearing-in of three members nominated for the National Assembly by President Bidhya Devi Bhandari on recommendation of the KP Sharma Oli government.

Mahantha Thakur of Rastriya Janata Party Nepal (RJP) Chairman Council administered oath of office and secrecy to House of Representatives (HoR) members before the swearing-in of National Assembly members.

Thakur and Bhatta had earlier taken oath of office and secrecy from President Bhandari.

Mahindra Raya Yadav of RJP, who was born on June 29, 1954, was earlier set to administer oath of office to HoR members as an 80-year-old due to an error in his citizenship certificate which mentions he was born in 1938.

But he later proposed that Thakur should administer the oath as he is actually younger than some HoR members including Thakur, Nepali Congress (NC) President Sher Bahadur Deuba and others.



© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.