NRB issues new banknotes for Dashain from today

Nepal Rastra Bank (NRB) has started issuing new banknotes from Sunday for the upcoming Dashain.  The bank  has allotted 22 different outlets in Kathmandu Valley for exchanging banknotes.

As many as 21 outlets of three banks owned by the government and Thapathali-based office of Nepal Rastra Bank are issuing the fresh notes.

The new banknotes will be issued from Nepal Bank’s branches at New Road, Kirtipur, Maharajgunj, Jorpati, Patan Industrial area, Lazimpat and Bhaktapur. Similarly, the public can also get new banknotes from Rastriya Banijya Bank’s branches at Singha Durbar Plaza, Teku, New Baneshwor, Gathhaghar, Bishal Bazar, Naxal, Kalanki and Balaju.

The new banknotes will also be available at the branches of Agriculture Development Bank at Gaushala, Koteshwor, Ram Shah Path, Ratna Park, Swoyambhu and Mangal Bazar.

A person can exchange two bundles of Rs 5, 10, 20 and 50 denominations and one of 100 bundle worth Rs 27,000.

The notes will be exchanged from October 7 to 15 within banking hours. The fresh notes will be exchanged from the branch offices of NRB at Biratnagar, Janakpur, Birgunj, Pokhara, Siddhartha Nagar, Nepalgunj and Dhangadhi  for those outside the Valley.

NRB estimates fresh banknotes worth Rs 13 billion will be exchanged this year. Last year, NRB had exchanged fresh cash of up to Rs 12 billion.

This year a person can exchange fresh notes worth Rs 27,000 while it was Rs 20,000 last year.


Photo: Nisha Bhandari/Setopati



© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.