EC apprises political parties of National Assembly poll issues

The Election Commission (EC) Tuesday called a meeting of various five political parties and apprised them of the preparations, programs and processes of the February 7 National Assembly ( NA) elections.

CPN-UML leader Subash Chandra Nembang after the meeting confirmed that the EC briefed the political parties on the poll programs and processes.

“The incumbent government will temporarily name the capital of the provinces as per the constitution and laws. I believe that political consensus will be struck on the matter,” he said. A total 2,056 local and provincial representatives will vote in the polls.

The meeting was attended by Nembang, Agni Kharel from the UML, Ramesh Lekhak and Bal Krishna Khand from the Nepali Congress, Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Dev Gurung and Ram Narayan Bidari from the CPN (Maoist Center), Rajendra Shrestha from Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal, Mahanta Thakur from Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal (RJP-N), and Ishwori Poudel and Nagendra Dahal from the EC.



© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.