First provincial assembly meeting of Province 4 today

The Municipal Training Center of Pokhara at Nadipur that will held the first provincial assembly meeting. Photo:Sagar Timalsina

The first provincial assembly meeting of Province 4 is being held at the hall of Municipal Training Center of Pokhara at Nadipur today. All preparations for the meeting have been completed while the provincial assembly members have all arrived in Pokhara.
The parties have decided that the first meeting will run for around 75 minutes on Monday. It will pass the working procedure for operation of provincial assembly, joint secretary of the provincial assembly Jeev Raj Budhathoki told Setopati.
A total of 11 members including three each from the big three parties and one each from two smaller ones will address the first meeting, according to Budhathoki. Parties have reached agreement to hold the election for speaker on February 15 and deputy speaker on February 18.
A rehearsal was held for the first meeting on Sunday. Prithvi Subba Gurung and Kiran Gurung of CPN-UML, Krishna Chandra Nepali and Bindu Kumar Thapa of Nepali Congress (NC) and Hari Chuman and Netra Nath Adhikari of CPN (Maoist Center) took part in the rehearsal program. Sanyukta Janamorcha had sent Krishna Thapa and Naya Shakti Party Nepal Hari Sharan Acharya for participation.
There are 60 provincial assembly members in the province including 27 from UML, 15 from NC, 12 Maoist Center, 3 Janamorcha, 2 Naya Shakti and one independent. The parties have made accommodation arrangements for their respective members in different hotels.
There will be 55 marshals headed by Nepal Police inspector at the meeting hall while 25 security persons will be deployed outside the meeting hall.
Seating arrangements have also been made for invitees, provincial government staffers and journalists. A media center has also been established at the secretariat of the provincial assembly.



© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.