Raut forms biggest provincial Cabinet

Chief Minister (CM) of Province 2 Mohammad Lal Babu Raut has formed the biggest provincial Cabinet inducting fours ministers and three state ministers on Wednesday. The Cabinet now has 10 members including CM Raut.

Gyanendra Yadav of Federal Socialist Forum Nepal (FSFN) has been appointed internal affairs and law minister, and Shailendra Sah land management, agriculture and cooperatives minister. Similarly, senior vice chairman of Rastriya Janata Party Nepal (RJP) Nawal Kishor Sah social development minister and Ram Naresh Raya industry, tourism, forest and environment minister.

Raut has also appointed provincial state ministers for the first time in Nepal. Saroj Singh has been appointed state minister for internal affairs and law ministry, Yogendra Raya Yadav for land management, agriculture and cooperatives ministry, and Usha Yadav for financial affairs and planning ministry.

RJP was also scheduled to send state ministers on Wednesday but the names could not be decided, according to RJP leader Keshav Jha.

Raut had earlier inducted Bijay Yadav of FSFN as financial affairs and planning minister and Jitendra Sonal of RJP as physical infrastructure development minister.

CMs of Karnali and Province 7 have already completed Cabinet expansion while that in Province 1, 3, 4 and 5 have yet to be expanded. But state ministers have not been appointed in any of the six provinces.

The constitution prohibits a Cabinet bigger than 20 percent of the size of provincial assembly.



© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.