Voting in presidential election continues

Voting in the presidential election has started at the Parliament House in New Baneshwore since 10 Tuesday morning.

Current President Bidhya Devi Bhandari and former lawmaker Kumari Laxmi Rai are contesting for the post in the third presidential election in the country. Bhandari has been fielded as the candidate by the left alliance of CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Center), and Rai by the main opposition Nepali Congress.

The electoral college for presidential election includes members of the federal parliament—including the House of Representatives (HoR) and the National Assembly, and provincial assemblies.

There will be 880 voters for the election including 331 of the federal parliament and 549 of the provincial assemblies, according to Spokesperson at the Election Commission Nava Raj Dhakal.



© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.