14 ministers to be inducted today

Prime Minister (PM) KP Sharma Oli is expanding the Cabinet at 4 pm Friday.

Seven ministers from CPN-UML, five from CPN (Maoist Center) and two from Federal Socialist Forum Nepal  (FSFN) are taking oath of office and secrecy. With the induction of 14 ministers, the Cabinet will have 21 members.

The government after allotting the ministerial berths to FSFN, has decided to split 17 ministries to make a total 20 ministries.

Among the ministers to be inducted today from CPN (Maoist Center) are Giriraj Mani Pokharel, Barshaman Pun, Bina Magar, Shakti Basnet. “Either Janardan Sharma or Bal Dev Sharma will also be inducted,” a Maoist Center leader said. Maoist Center Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal will take decision in this regard.

FSFN Chairman Upendra Yadav and its co-chairman Rajendra Shrestha are also being inducted today. Yadav is likely to receive urban development ministry whereas Shrestha may be health minister.

Maoist Center has thus received education, energy, agriculture, forest and irrigation ministries. Giriraj Mani Pokharel and Barshaman Pun are confirmed to receive education and energy ministries respectively. The ministries for other Maoist ministers are not yet finalized.

Meanwhile, UML will get nine ministries including foreign affairs, physical infrastructure, local development, tourism and general administration, among others.

Pradeep Gyawali, Rabindra Adhikari and Raghubir Mahaseth are confirmed to be inducted from UML. The five other UML ministers to be inducted have not yet been finalized.





© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.