Oli expands Cabinet, inducts 11 ministers

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has expanded his Cabinet for the third time by inducting 11 ministers from CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Center) on Friday.

Pradeep Gyawali and Gorkarna Bista from CPN-UML have been appointed as foreign affairs, and labor and employment ministers respectively. Rabindra Adhikari and Sher Bahadur Tamang have been appointed as tourism,  and law, justice and parliamentary affairs ministers respectively. Similarly, Raghubir Mahaseth and Chakra Bahadur  Sunar have been appointed as physical planning and infrastructure, and youth and sport ministers respectively.

PM Oli has also added some state ministers. Gokul Banskota has been appointed as the state minister for communication. Likewise, Padma Aryal has also been appointed as state minister.

Giriraj Mani Pokharel and Barshaman Pun from CPN (Maoist Center) have been appointed as education and energy ministers respectively. Bina Magar and Shakti Basnet have been appointed as drinking water and sanitation, and forest ministers respectively. Likewise, Chakrapani Khanal ‘Baldev’ has been appointed as agriculture and cooperatives minister. Ram Kumari Chaudhary of Maoist Center has been appointed as state minister for agriculture.

PM Oli on February 15 had appointed Lalbabu Pandit and Tham Maya Thapa as Population and Environment and Women’s Children and Social Welfare ministers respectively. Similarly, Oli on February 26 had appointed CPN-UML General Secretary Ishwor Pokharel as defense minister and former Nepal Rastra Bank (NRB) governor as Yuba Raj Khatiwada finance minister. Ram Bahadur Thapa was appointed home minister and Matrika Yadav industry, commerce and supplies minister.

With the induction of 11 ministers, the Cabinet has 18 members.



© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.