Cabinet decides to keep one secretary in all ministries except in Finance Ministry

The Cabinet has decided to keep only one secretary in ministries except the Finance Ministry.

“The Cabinet meeting held Tuesday at Prime Minister’s office in Baluwatar has decided to keep only one secretary,” Tourism Minister Rabindra Adhikari told Setopati.

The KP Sharma Oli-led government has downsized the number of ministries from 31 to 21 as per the Constitutional provision that states not having more than 25 ministers.

After the merger of ministries, some ministries still have more than two secretaries.

“There could be at least two secretaries in Finance Ministry while other ministries will have only one secretary,” Adhikari informed.

Earlier, there was a vacancy for the post of two secretaries.

Similarly, the Cabinet meeting has refused the foreign trips for the justices. Law Minister Sher Bahadur Tamang informed that the Cabinet has turned down a proposal sent by the Supreme Court on foreign trip of some justices.

The meeting has approved the three-day state visit of Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli. PM Oli is paying state visit to India from April 6 to 8.

Meanwhile, the Cabinet meeting has approved the financial assistance of Rs 10 billion to Kathmandu Upatyaka Khanepani Limited (KUKL) to be provided by Asian Development Bank.



© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.