Ishwor Pokharel, Upendra Yadav appointed as DPMs

Defense Minister Ishwor Pokharel and Health Minister Upendra Yadav being administered oath of office and secrecy by President Bidhya Devi Bhandari at President’s Office in Shital Niwas amid a function on Friday, June 1, 2018. Photo: Yam Chaurasiya via Facebook

Two Deputy Prime Ministers (DPMs) have been added in the KP Oli-led government on Friday. Defense Minister Ishwor Pokharel and Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal (FSF-N) Chairman Upendra Yadav have been appointed as DPMs.

Defense Minister Ishwor Pokharel was promoted to DPM while Yadav was appointed as Health Minister on Friday itself.

“Yadav agreed to remain in the third position in the hierarchy,” PM’s press adviser Kundan Aryal informed Setopati.

Earlier, Yadav was appointed as Foreign Affairs Minister and DPM in 2008.

Similarly, Mohammad Istiyak Rai from FSF-N was appointed as Urban Development Minister.

Meanwhile, State Minister for Communication and Information, Gokul Baskota was promoted from state minister to Minister for Communication and Information

With the inclusion of two FSF-N ministers, the Oli-led Cabinet has 24 members.

President Bidhya Devi Bhandari administered the oath of secrecy and office to the DPM duo and newly appointed ministers amid a function organized in President’s Office, Shital Niwas on Friday. DPM Nanda Bahadur Pun, Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli, Speaker of House of Representatives Krishna Bahadur Mahara, Chairman of National Assembly Ganesh Prasad Timilsina and high-level government officials, among others, attended the function.



© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.