Province 7 unveils election schedule of speaker

The State Assembly Secretariat in Province 7 Monday published the schedule of election of a speaker.

As per the schedule agreed on by the first meeting of State Assembly Sunday, the election will start at 1 pm of February 12, Monday. The registration of candidacy (ies) will take place from 2 to 5 pm on February 10 and the name list of candidate (s) will be published at 5:30 pm same day. The time for opposing candidature (s) has been fixed from 10 am to 12 noon on February 11 and scrutiny of nominations will be carried out from 12 noon to 2 pm same day before issuing the revised name list. The time for withdrawal of candidature(s) will be from 2 pm to 4 pm and the final name list will be published at 5 pm before the election day, according to Secretariat joint secretary Murari Mahat.

The left alliance has a majority in Province 7 that comprises nine districts in the far-western region. According to an agreement reached between the two parties including CPN (Maoist Center) and CPN-UML on sharing of provincial posts here, a chief minister will be from the CPN (Maoist Center) while the post of a speaker will be held by the UML.

It may be noted that the CPN (Maoist Center) province committee meeting few days ago proposed the name of party’s State Assembly member from Doti, Trilochan Bhatta, as a Chief Minister in Province 7.

In the 53-member State Assembly in this province, 25 seats are held by the UML, 14 by the CPN (Maoist Center), 14 by the Nepali Congress and two by the Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal ( RJP-N).



© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.