Oli sworn in as PM

President Bidhya Devi Bhandari administering oath of office and secrecy to Oli at the President's Office, Sheetal Niwas at 5 pm, February 15, 2018. Photo: Narayan Maharjan/Setopati

CPN-UML Chairman KP Oli has been sworn in as the prime minister (PM) on Thursday.

President Bidhya Devi Bhandari administered oath of office and secrecy to Oli at the President’s Office, Sheetal Niwas at 5 pm.

Leaders of left alliance earlier on Thursday reached the President’s Office claiming Oli has support of the majority of House of Representatives (HoR) members.  UML and Maoist Center together have 174 seats in the 275-strong HoR.

President Bhandari then appointed Oli as the PM as per Article 76(2) of the constitution after Sher Bahadur Deuba submitted his resignation.

This is the second time Oli has been elected PM. He was elected as PM for the first time on October 11, 2015.


Photo Source: Narayan Maharjan/Setopati



© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.