HoR members sworn in

Mahantha Thakur of Rastriya Janata Party Nepal (RJP) Chairman Council administered oath of office and secrecy to House of Representatives (HoR) members on Sunday. Thakur administered oath of office and secrecy to HoR members.

Thakur, the senior most member of HoR at 75, had earlier taken oath of office and secrecy from President Bidhya Devi Bhandari along with Tara Devi Bhatta, the oldest member of National Assembly.

Bhatta will soon administer oath of office and secrecy to other National Assembly members.

Mahindra Raya Yadav of RJP, who was born on June 29, 1954, was earlier set to administer oath of office to HoR members as an 80-year-old due to an error in his citizenship certificate which mentions he was born in 1938.

But he later proposed that Thakur should administer the oath as he is actually younger than some HoR members including Thakur, Nepali Congress (NC) President Sher Bahadur Deuba and others.




© 2017 Setopati Sanchar Pvt. Ltd.